Kebabs at Ali Baba

Turkish is one of my favourite foods, but it’s an almost impossible challenge to find low-FODMAP Turkish food when dining out. Onion, garlic and wheat seem to be used generously in everything!

Thanks to the many Ali Baba stores throughout Canberra though, I’ve been enjoying almost normal kebabs for dinner and out on shopping trips.

img_3177
Ali Baba Dickson

Ali Baba offers gluten free wraps, which don’t have any risky ingredients like inulin or besan flour. They fall apart pretty easily, but have a decent flavour.

Multiple stores have assured me that there is no onion or garlic marinade on any of the meats.

I usually choose the lamb, and add some lettuce and tomato. At some stores, I’m able to add in some cucumber slices and capsicum too. I ask for the lemon and coriander sauce, which is onion and garlic free. If I’m having a good day, I’ll ask for a little bit of hot chilli sauce as well. Just make sure you steer clear of the tabbouleh!

img_3180
Kebab roll

Be careful if you ask for a side of chips. The seasoning that they add after cooking is full of onion powder, and makes me really sick. If this is a problem for you too, ask for them to make you some without seasoning.

img_3179
Kebab and chips

Leave a comment